Division I Committees

Division I committees deal with issues that apply only to Division I, perform duties necessary to the ongoing operation of Division I and are comprised only of Division I members, unless otherwise specified. The appointment process for Division I committees is coordinated through multisport conference offices.

In 2014, Division I restructured to give more emphasis to student-athlete voice at every level of decision-making. The final model expands the Division I Board of Directors to include 20 presidents, a student-athlete, faculty representative, athletics director and female administrator.

A new body known as the Council is responsible for day-to-day operations of the division and includes representatives from each conference plus two seats for student-athletes, two for faculty and four for commissioners.

The new model grants flexibility to schools in the Atlantic Coast, Big 12, Big Ten, Pac-12 and Southeastern conferences to change rules for themselves in a list of specific areas within Division I.