You are here

Academic Standards for Initial-Eligibility

Academic Standards

The NCAA Eligibility Center verifies the academic and amateur status of all student-athletes who wish to compete in Division I or II athletics.

College-bound student-athletes who want to practice, compete and receive athletically related financial aid during their first year at a Division I or II school need to meet the following requirements:

  • Graduate from high school.
  • Complete a minimum of 16 core courses for Division I or II.
  • Earn a minimum required grade-point average in core courses.
  • Earn a qualifying test score on either the ACT or SAT.
  • Request final amateurism certification from the NCAA Eligibility Center.

For Division I student-athletes, the following must be completed in addition to the above standards:

  • Earn at least a 2.3 grade-point average in core courses.
  • Meet an increased sliding-scale standard (for example, an SAT score of 820 requires a 2.5 high school core course GPA)
  • Successfully complete 10 of the 16 total required core courses before the start of their seventh semester in high school. Seven of the 10 courses must be successfully completed in English, math and science.

Students who earn at least a 2.0 GPA and meet the current Division I sliding-scale standard will be deemed an Academic Redshirt. Academic redshirt student-athletes are eligible for practice in the first academic term, will receive athletically related financial aid the entire year, but will not be able to compete. Freshmen who are academically successful in the first term will earn the ability to continue to practice in the next academic term.

For Division II initial-eligibility information, visit Division III colleges and universities set their own admission standards. The NCAA does not set initial-eligibility requirements in Division III.

For more detail about academic requirements visit the Eligibility Center.

For more details about the Eligibility Center’s response to COVID-19, click here.