You are here

Division II Admits its 300th Member

Membership Committee approves eight schools for active status beginning in September

Division II will grow to 300 members in September after the Membership Committee approved eight schools for active status during its July 7-8 meeting in Indianapolis.

The committee also recommended that five schools be admitted into the three-year membership process, while nine other schools made progress on their track to full membership.

Of the schools that completed the third year of the division’s membership process, the following advanced to full membership:

  • Azusa Pacific University
  • Point Loma Nazarene University
  • Roberts Wesleyan University
  • Shorter University
  • Southern Nazarene University
  • Trevecca Nazarene University
  • Union University
  • Young Harris College

The committee recommended Fresno Pacific University repeat the provisional year due to violations tied to impermissible student-athlete benefits in the men’s and women’s tennis program.

Eight schools, all current members of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics, applied this year for Division II membership. The following were accepted into the process:

  • California State University, San Marcos
  • Concordia University Irvine
  • Concordia University Oregon
  • Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Oklahoma Baptist University

Mississippi College, Rogers State University and Spring Hill College successfully completed the first year of candidacy membership and will advance to year two. The committee recommended Emmanuel College (Georgia) and Southern Wesleyan University repeat the first year.

Schools moving on to the provisional period en route to active membership in the 2015-16 academic year are Daemen College, Lee University, Lubbock Christian University, Northwestern Oklahoma State University, Oklahoma Christian University and the University of Virginia’s College at Wise. Holy Names University was asked to repeat year two of the candidacy period.

The committee’s decisions will be reviewed by the NCAA Division II Management Council as part of its regular process during its July 21-22 meeting, and if no further action is taken at that time, the membership changes will take effect Sept. 1.