You are here

DII set to add four members

Membership will total 310 college and universities in 2019-20

Four schools will become the newest members of Division II this fall, the Division II Membership Committee determined this week at a meeting in Indianapolis. Auburn Montgomery, Biola, Davenport and Purdue Northwest were approved to become active Division II members beginning Sept. 1.

As active members, the schools will be eligible to compete in NCAA Division II championships and vote at the NCAA Convention, among other benefits.

The Membership Committee voted to accept the four new members after the schools completed the division’s multiyear membership process. The Division II membership will total 310 colleges and universities in 2019-20.

Two schools were approved to begin the Division II membership process and will enter provisional year one in the fall: Staten Island and Frostburg State.

Texas-Tyler advanced to provisional year two of the three-year reclassification process from Division III. Savannah State also advanced to provisional year two of the two-year reclassification process from Division I.

The Membership Committee noted significant concerns related to Savannah State’s compliance program, its recent major infractions case and probationary status in Division I, and its overall readiness to be an active Division II member. In advancing Savannah State, the committee agreed the school will be required to satisfy the standard requirements of provisional year two, which are more rigorous than those of year one. Further, the committee imposed additional requirements — such as increased rules education, presidential engagement and status updates to the committee throughout the year — and noted that the school may be required to repeat year two if progress is not made.