You are here

DII schools earn Presidents’ Award for Academic Excellence

32 achieve high scores in four-year Academic Success Rates

Thirty-two Division II member schools have been named recipients of the Presidents’ Award for Academic Excellence, presented to member schools earning an Academic Success Rate of 90% or higher. This marks the ninth year of the program.

Bentley was again the top performer in the division, turning in a four-year ASR of 99%, followed by Thomas Jefferson University with 98% and Saint Michael’s with 97%.

The Northeast-10 and Great Lakes Valley conferences led Division II’s 24 conferences in ASR rates, each with five athletics programs posting scores of 90% or more.

“The 32 schools recognized with the Presidents’ Award for Academic Excellence are dedicated to supporting the academic success of student-athletes,” said Gary Olson, president of Daemen and chair of the Division II Presidents Council. “What is even more remarkable, 11 of these schools have been recognized each year of this program. We commend the institutions for their commitment to academic excellence and dedication to preparing student-athletes for life after college.”

The Academic Success Rate is the percentage of student-athletes who graduate within six years of initial collegiate enrollment and includes virtually all Division II student-athletes.

Unlike the federal rate, the Division II ASR includes nearly 34,000 nonscholarship student-athletes and accounts for those who transfer to a Division II school after initial enrollment elsewhere, while removing student-athletes who leave school while academically eligible. The national ASR for the four cohorts of student-athletes who entered college from 2009 to 2012 is 73%.

Division II student-athletes continue to graduate at a higher rate than the general student body. Even when using the less-inclusive federal graduation rate, the 2012 entering class of student-athletes graduated at a rate of 61%, compared with 52% for the general student body.

Schools receiving the Presidents’ Award are:

School Four-Year ASR Conference
Bentley University 99 Northeast-10 Conference
Thomas Jefferson University 98 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference
Saint Michael's College 97 Northeast-10 Conference
Hillsdale College 96 Great Midwest Athletic Conference
Point Loma Nazarene University 96 Pacific West Conference
Regis University (Colorado) 96 Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference
University of Puerto Rico, Bayamon 96 Independent
Rollins College 96 Sunshine State Conference
Biola University 96 Pacific West Conference
Eckerd College 95 Sunshine State Conference
Stonehill College 95 Northeast-10 Conference
Dominican University of California 95 Pacific West Conference
University of the Sciences 95 Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference
Rockhurst University 94 Great Lakes Valley Conference
Flagler College 93 Peach Belt Conference
Seattle Pacific University 93 Great Northwest Athletic Conference
Davenport University 93 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Cedarville University 93 Great Midwest Athletic Conference
University of California, San Diego 93 California Collegiate Athletic Association
Lewis University 92 Great Lakes Valley Conference
Assumption College 92 Northeast-10 Conference
Barry University 92 Sunshine State Conference
Concordia University, St. Paul 91 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference
St. Edward's University 91 Lone Star Conference
University of Indianapolis 91 Great Lakes Valley Conference
Trevecca Nazarene University 91 Great Midwest Athletic Conference
St. Thomas Aquinas College 90 East Coast Conference
Le Moyne College 90 Northeast-10 Conference
Bellarmine University 90 Great Lakes Valley Conference
Mercyhurst University 90 Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference
William Jewell College 90 Great Lakes Valley Conference
Florida Southern College 90 Sunshine State Conference