You are here

Division III LGBTQ OneTeam Program

The Division III LGBTQ OneTeam Facilitator Training and Program has four objectives for participants:

  1. To understand the involvement of the NCAA and Division III in LGBTQ issues;
  2. To recognize the importance of LGBTQ inclusion in college athletics; learn common LGBTQ terms, definitions and concepts;
  3. To identify strategies and best practices for institutions and conferences to ensure all individuals may participate in an athletics climate of respect and inclusion, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression; and
  4. To develop facilitation and presentation skills. The program is designed to provide peer-driven LGBTQ educational programming directly to Division III institutions and conferences.

Request an LGBTQ OneTeam Program

To request an LGBTQ OneTeam program follow the following steps:

  1. Locate a trained facilitator in your area. (see below for a list of trained facilitators.)
  2. Contact the facilitator directly.
  3. The facilitator will work with you on securing a mutually agreed upon date and time.
  4. The facilitator will need to know the total number of training participants at least 21 days in advance of the training in order to secure the proper training materials for the session.
  5. Each in-person training session lasts two hours.

Parameters to Host an LGBTQ OneTeam Program

  1. Participants in attendance should be no more than 50, with a preferred size of 35.
  2. Programs are designed for athletics administrators, staff and coaches. However, you may request a separate program for your student-athletes. 
  3. The set-up should be a room or classroom (not an auditorium), preferably with round tables.  Five chairs to every table.
  4. Audiovisual capabilities (e.g. projector screen and laptop) necessary as there is a program PowerPoint.

Cost to Host an LGBTQ OneTeam Program

There is no facilitation fee for the training. Division III has trained the facilitators and they are donating their time and expertise as a service to the Division III membership. If your facilitator is coming from a distance greater than 25 miles, we request you provide travel expenses.  You may ask your commissioner to offset the expenses from the Division III Conference Grant program. Contact your conference office to determine if they have funds available for your use.

Facilitators only: click here to confirm a LGBTQ OneTeam Program.

LGBTQ OneTeam Program Facilitators

The following individuals have been trained to facilitate the Division III LGBTQ OneTeam Program for your campus or conference. Reach out to a facilitator in your area and request a training for your athletics administrators, staff and coaches or for your student-athletes. Each in-person training session lasts two hours. The facilitator will work with you on securing a mutually agreed upon date and time for the training session. The facilitator will need to know the total number of training participants at least 21 days in advance of the training in order to secure the proper training materials needed for the session.

First Name Last Name Title School/Conference State Conference Email Address
Megan Barnes Head Athletic Trainer / Senior Woman Administrator Northern Vermont University-Lyndon Vermont NAC megan.barnes@northernvermont.edu
Renee Bostic Director of Athletics and Wellness Notre Dame of Maryland University Maryland CSAS rbostic@ndm.edu
Melissa Brooks Head Women's Basketball Coach Fairleigh Dickinson University, Florham New Jersey MAC mbrooks@fdu.edu
Timothy Bussey Assistant Director, Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Kenyon College Ohio NCAC bussey1@kenyon.edu
Jennifer Childress-White Women's Basketball Head Coach Pacific Lutheran University Washington Northwest childrjl@plu.edu
Cori Collinsworth Head Softball Coach Hanover College Indiana Heartland collinsworth@hanover.edu
Mika Costello Student-Athlete Willamette University Oregon Northwest macostello@willamette.edu
Megan Cullinane Assistant Director for Compliance & Student-Athlete Welfare University of Massachusetts Boston Massachusetts Little East megan.cullinane@umb.edu
Jess Duff Special Assistant to the Athletic Director/Department Head Massachusetts Institute of Technology Massachusetts NEWMAC jduff@mit.edu
Kayla Gordon Asst. Women's Basketball Coach Denison University Ohio NCAC gordonk@denison.edu
Elaine Harvey Assistant Director for Development & Communications Wellesley College Massachusetts NEWMAC eharvey3@wellesley.edu
Mary Irving Associate Athletic Director/SWA State University of New York at Cobleskill New York NEAC irvingmj@cobleskill.edu
Tomiko Jenkins Senior Associate Dean of Students Agnes Scott College Georgia USA South tjenkins@agnesscott.edu
Maura Johnston Field Hockey Head Coach Fairleigh Dickinson University, Florham New Jersey MAC mjohnston@fdu.edu
Brit Katz Vice President and Senior Dean for Student Life Millsap College Mississippi SAA brit_katz@hotmail.com
Annie Kietzman Field Hockey Head Coach Washington College (Maryland) Maryland Centennial akietzman2@washcoll.edu
Kyrstin Krist Faculty Athletic Representative Methodist University North Carolina USA South kkrist@methodist.edu
Kaitlin Leach Associate Athletic Director for Compliance & Student-Athlete Welfare Vassar College New York Liberty kleach@vassar.edu
Kate Levin Assistant Director of Sports Information/Marketing/Planning Ramapo College New Jersey NJAC klevin@ramapo.edu
Melynda Link Director of Athletic Facilities & Game Day Operations Haverford College Pennsylvania Centennial mlink@haverford.edu
Sharia Marcus-Carter Compliance Coordinator Sarah Lawrence College New York Skyline smarcus@sarahlawrence.edu
Jen Miller Associate Athletic Director/SWA Compliance Officer, Head Fastpitch Softball Coach Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Minnesota MIAC jmmiller@smumn.edu
Gina Nicoletti-Bellinger Associate Athletic Director/SWA/Director of Fitness Center Centre College Kentucky SAA gina.nicoletti@centre.edu
Danielle OLeary Senior Woman Administrator | Head Women's Lacrosse Coach Mount Aloysius College Pennsylvania AMCC doleary@mtaloy.edu
Joe Pavlow Athletic Director Rosemont College Pennsylvania CSAC joseph.pavlow@rosemont.edu
Jose Rodriguez Director of Students Diversity Cabrini University Pennsylvania Atlantic East jr3392@cabrini.edu
Kimberly Turner Associate Director of Athletics University of Southern Maine Maine Little East kmturner@maine.edu
Lexie Vernon Associate Director of Athletics for Compliance, Business, and Internal Operations/Senior Woman Administrator Knox College Illinois Midwest akvernon@knox.edu
Neil Virtue Head Swimming Coach Mills College California ACAA nvirtue@mills.edu

Division III LGBTQ Working Group

In 2016, the Division III Management Council endorsed the creation of a Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Questioning (LGBTQ) Working Group.  The working group’s charge is to examine the current LGBTQ landscape in Division III.  Examination and research may lead to potential programming, resources, and recognition of the LGBTQ community and its allies as well as increasing the engagement and collaboration at the institutional, conference and national levels. 

Proceedings