You are here

Division III LGBTQ OneTeam Program

The Division III LGBTQ Working Group, in consultation with Nevin Caple, co-founder and managing director of LGBT SportSafe and Dr. Pat Griffin, professor emerita at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, have developed the Division III LGBTQ OneTeam Program. For information about hosting a OneTeam program on your campus, please read the information below. Contact Shay Wallach (swallach@ncaa.org) for additional information about the program.

The Division III LGBTQ OneTeam Program has four objectives for participants:

  1. To understand the involvement of the NCAA and Division III in LGBTQ issues;
  2. To recognize the importance of LGBTQ inclusion in college athletics; learn common LGBTQ terms, definitions and concepts;
  3. To identify strategies and best practices for institutions and conferences to ensure all individuals may participate in an athletics climate of respect and inclusion, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression; and
  4. To develop facilitation and presentation skills. The program is designed to provide peer-driven LGBTQ educational programming directly to Division III institutions and conferences.

Request an LGBTQ OneTeam Program

To request an LGBTQ OneTeam program follow the following steps:

  1. Locate a trained facilitator in your area. (see below for a list of trained facilitators.)
  2. Contact the facilitator directly.
  3. The facilitator will work with you on securing a mutually agreed upon date and time.
  4. The facilitator will need to know the total number of training participants at least 21 days in advance of the training in order to secure the proper training materials for the session.
  5. Each in-person training session lasts two hours.

Parameters to Host an LGBTQ OneTeam Program

  1. Participants in attendance should be no more than 50, with a preferred size of 35.
  2. Programs are designed for athletics administrators, staff and coaches. However, you may request a separate program for your student-athletes. 
  3. The set-up should be a room or classroom (not an auditorium), preferably with round tables.  Five chairs to every table.
  4. Audiovisual capabilities (e.g. projector screen and laptop) necessary as there is a program PowerPoint.

Cost to Host an LGBTQ OneTeam Program

There is no facilitation fee for the training. Division III has trained the facilitators and they are donating their time and expertise as a service to the Division III membership. If your facilitator is coming from a distance greater than 25 miles, we request you provide travel expenses.  You may ask your commissioner to offset the expenses from the Division III Conference Grant program. Contact your conference office to determine if they have funds available for your use.

Facilitators only: click here to confirm a LGBTQ OneTeam Program.

LGBTQ OneTeam Program Facilitators

The following individuals have been trained to facilitate the Division III LGBTQ OneTeam Program for your campus or conference. Reach out to a facilitator in your area and request a training for your athletics administrators, staff and coaches or for your student-athletes. Each in-person training session lasts two hours. The facilitator will work with you on securing a mutually agreed upon date and time for the training session. The facilitator will need to know the total number of training participants at least 21 days in advance of the training in order to secure the proper training materials needed for the session.

First Name Last Name Title School/Conference State Conference Email Address
Megan Barnes Head Athletic Trainer / Senior Woman Administrator Northern Vermont University-Lyndon Vermont NAC megan.barnes@northernvermont.edu
Donnesha Blake Director of Diversity and Inclusion Alma College Michigan MIAA blakeda@alma.edu
Renee Bostic Director of Athletics and Wellness Notre Dame of Maryland University Maryland CSAS rbostic@ndm.edu
Melissa Brooks Head Women's Basketball Coach Fairleigh Dickinson University, Florham New Jersey MAC mbrooks@fdu.edu
Timothy Bussey Associate Director, Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Kenyon College Ohio NCAC bussey1@kenyon.edu
Jennifer Childress-White Women's Basketball Head Coach Pacific Lutheran University Washington Northwest childrjl@plu.edu
Yishka Chin Coordinator for Student-Athletic Success Notre Dame of Maryland University Maryland CSAC ychin@ndm.edu
Kirsten Clark Associate Athletic Director / Senior Woman Administrator Clark University (Massachusetts) Massachusetts NEWMAC kiclark@clarku.edu
Cori Collinsworth Head Softball Coach Hanover College Indiana Heartland collinsworth@hanover.edu
Mika Costello Student-Athlete Willamette University Oregon Northwest macostello@willamette.edu
Ashley Crossway Assistant Athletic Trainer Nazareth College New York Empire 8 acrossw0@naz.edu
Megan Cullinane Assistant Director for Compliance & Student-Athlete Welfare University of Massachusetts Boston Massachusetts Little East megan.cullinane@umb.edu
Bethany Dannelly Director of Championships Old Dominion Athletic Conference Virginia ODAC bethany@odaconline.com
Jaclyn Davis Head Softball Coach Suffolk University Massachusetts GNAC jmdavis@suffolk.edu
Marquetta Dickens Assistant Director of Athletics / Head Women's Basketball Coach College of Saint Elizabeth New Jersey CSAC mdickens@cse.edu
Chris Dixon Director of Athletic Diversity & Inclusion Augsburg University Minnesota MIAC dixonc2@augsburg.edu
Jennifer Dubow Commissioner Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference California SCIAC jdubow@thesciac.org
Jess Duff Assistant Athletic Director for Student-Athlete Services & Internal Operations Bates College Massachusetts NEWMAC jduff@mit.edu
Stephanie Dutton Interim Commissioner North Eastern Athletic Conference New York NEAC stephanie@neacsports.com
Elise Fitzsimmons Assistant Athletic Trainer State University of New York at Oswego New York SUNYAC elise.fitzsimmons@oswego.edu
Kayla Gordon Assistant Women's Basketball Coach Denison University Ohio NCAC gordonk@denison.edu
Maureen Harty Commissioner College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin Illinois CCIW mharty@cciw.org
Elaine Harvey Assistant Director for Development & Communications Wellesley College Massachusetts NEWMAC eharvey3@wellesley.edu
Mary Irving Associate Athletic Director / Senior Woman Administrator State University of New York at Cobleskill New York NEAC irvingmj@cobleskill.edu
Tomiko Jenkins Senior Associate Dean of Students Agnes Scott College Georgia USA South tjenkins@agnesscott.edu
Maura Johnston Field Hockey Head Coach Fairleigh Dickinson University, Florham New Jersey MAC mjohnston@fdu.edu
Brit Katz Vice President and Senior Dean for Student Life Millsap College Mississippi SAA brit_katz@hotmail.com
Penny Kempf Associate Athletic Director / Senior Woman Administrator Rowan University New Jersey NJAC kempf@rowan.edu
Annie Kietzman Field Hockey Head Coach Washington College (Maryland) Maryland Centennial akietzman2@washcoll.edu
Russell Kramer Associate Commissioner Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Georgia SCAC rkramer@scacsports.com
Kyrstin Krist Faculty Athletic Representative Methodist University North Carolina USA South kkrist@methodist.edu
Crystal Lanning Director of Athletics University of Wisconsin - River Falls Wisconsin WIAC crystal.lanning@uwrf.edu
Kaitlin Leach Associate Athletic Director for Compliance & Student-Athlete Welfare Vassar College New York Liberty kleach@vassar.edu
Donna Ledwin Commissioner Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference New York AMCC ledwin@amccsports.org
Kate Levin Assistant Director of Sports Information / Marketing / Planning Ramapo College New Jersey NJAC klevin@ramapo.edu
Melynda Link Director of Athletic Facilities & Game Day Operations Haverford College Pennsylvania Centennial mlink@haverford.edu
Joanne Little Senior Associate Director of Athletics / Senior Woman Administrator Union College (New York) New York Liberty littlej@union.edu
Sherry Llauger Head Athletic Trainer Purchase College, State University of New York New York Skyline sherry.llauger@purchase.edu
Danielle Lynch Head Men's & Women's Cross-Country Coach Penn State Harrisburg Pennsylvania NEAC dml35@psu.edu
Sharia Marcus-Carter Compliance Coordinator Sarah Lawrence College New York Skyline smarcus@sarahlawrence.edu
Erin McGaffigan Head Women's Lacrosse Coach Alfred University New York Empire 8 mcgaffigan@alfred.edu
Jen Miller Associate Athletic Director / Senior Woman Administrator Compliance Officer, Head Fastpitch Softball Coach Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Minnesota MIAC jmmiller@smumn.edu
Karen Moberg Assistant Athletic Trainer Macalester College Minnesota MIAC kmoberg@macalester.edu
Joshua Moore Assistant Dean for Diversity & Inclusion Wittenberg University Ohio NCAC moorej18@wittenberg.edu
Gina Nicoletti-Bellinger Associate Athletic Director / Senior Woman Administrator / Director of Fitness Center Centre College Kentucky SAA gina.nicoletti@centre.edu
Danielle OLeary Head Women's Lacrosse Coach/Senior Woman Administrator Mount Aloysius College Pennsylvania AMCC doleary@mtaloy.edu
Joe Pavlow Athletic Director Rosemont College Pennsylvania CSAC joseph.pavlow@rosemont.edu
Amy Reed Head Women’s Basketball Coach / Senior Woman Administrator Rochester Institute of Technology New York Liberty abratl@rit.edu
Jose Rodriguez Director of Students Diversity Cabrini University Pennsylvania Atlantic East jr3392@cabrini.edu
Tiffany Thompson Associate Director of Gender and Sexuality Initiatives Swarthmore College Pennsylvania Centennial tthomps4@swarthmore.edu
Hannah Tigh Head Women’s Soccer Coach Cazenovia College New York NEAC hktigh@cazenovia.edu
Kimberly Turner Associate Director of Athletics University of Southern Maine Maine Little East kmturner@maine.edu
Lexie Vernon Associate Director of Athletics for Compliance, Business, and Internal Operations/Senior Woman Administrator Knox College Illinois Midwest akvernon@knox.edu
Neil Virtue Head Swimming Coach Mills College California ACAA nvirtue@mills.edu
Amanda Walker Athletic Program Coordinator Lake Forest College Illinois Midwest awalker@lakeforest.edu
Melissa Walton Senior Associate Director / Senior Woman Administrator Albion College Michigan MIAA mwalton@albion.edu
Jessica Weiss Head Field Hockey Coach Randolph-Macon College Virginia ODAC jessicaweiss@rmc.edu
Timothy Wilson Assistant Men's and Women's Track and Field Coach Stevens Institute of Technology New Jersey MAC twilson2@stevens.edu

Division III LGBTQ Working Group

In 2016, the Division III Management Council endorsed the creation of a Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Questioning (LGBTQ) Working Group.  The working group’s charge is to examine the current LGBTQ landscape in Division III.  Examination and research may lead to potential programming, resources, and recognition of the LGBTQ community and its allies as well as increasing the engagement and collaboration at the institutional, conference and national levels. 

Proceedings