You are here

Theodore Roosevelt Award

The “Teddy” is the highest honor the NCAA may confer on an individual.  It is named after President Theodore Roosevelt, whose concern for the conduct of intercollegiate athletics led to the formation of the NCAA in 1906.

Award Criteria

The “Teddy” is presented annually to a distinguished citizen of national reputation and outstanding accomplishment. To be eligible the recipient must have graduated from an NCAA member institution and earned a varsity athletics award, or participated in competitive intercollegiate athletics. Furthermore, the awardee, by personal example and contributions to society, exemplifies the ideals to which collegiate athletics programs and amateur sports competition are dedicated.

Nominations from Member Institutions

All NCAA member institutions are encouraged to nominate individuals for this award. The selection of the Theodore Roosevelt Award recipient is made by the NCAA Honors Committee in June.

Nominees need not be alumni of your institution.  An employee of an athletics department at an NCAA member institution, or anyone who has been so employed within the last three years, is not eligible for the award. Nominations submitted the past three years are included automatically among the candidates for the current year's award.

The Theodore Roosevelt Award Contact Information:

Sharon Tufano
NCAA Honors Program
Phone: 317-917-6939

Billy Mills to receive NCAA’s 2014 Theodore Roosevelt Award

In January of 2014, Billy Mills will receive the NCAA’s highest honor, the Theodore Roosevelt Award. Named after the former president whose concern for the conduct of college athletics led to the formation of the NCAA in 1906, the award is given annually to an individual “for whom competitive athletics in college and attention to physical well-being thereafter have been important factors in a distinguished career of national significance and achievement.” Read full story.

 The 2013 recipient was Tony Dungy.