Walter Byers Scholars

NCAA names 2020 Byers Scholarship recipients

An NCAA committee with oversight of the Walter Byers Graduate Scholarship selected two former student-athletes as recipients of the 2020 awards.

NCAA names 2019 Byers Scholarship recipients

An NCAA committee has selected two former student-athletes as recipients of the Walter Byers Scholarship. The scholarships will go to Rachael Acker, a former swimmer at California, and Derek Soled, a former fencer at Yale.

NCAA names 2018 Byers Scholarship recipients

The NCAA Walter Byers Scholarship Committee selected two college athletes as recipients of Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarships: Jennifer Carmichael, a graduate of Oklahoma and former thrower on the track and field team, and Michael Seward, a Harvard graduate who was on the men’s ice hockey team.

NCAA committee names 2017 Byers Scholarship recipients

An NCAA committee has selected two college athletes as recipients of the 2017 Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship. George Bugarinovic, who has a bachelor’s degree in public health and natural sciences from Johns Hopkins, played basketball, and Nandini Mehta, who graduated from Northwestern with a bachelor’s degree in economics and international studies, was a soccer player.

NCAA committee names Byers Scholarship recipients

An NCAA committee has selected two college athletes majoring in mechanical engineering as recipients of the 2016 Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship. Mitchell Black, who is also majoring in astrophysics, runs track and field and cross country at Tufts University, and Katherine Riojas is a four-year soccer player at The University of Tulsa.

NCAA Selects 2015 Walter Byers Scholarship winners

The NCAA has selected Lucinda Kauffman, a field hockey player from Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania, and Tofey James (T.J.) Leon IV, a swimmer from Auburn University, to receive the 2015 Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship. Each student-athlete will be granted a renewable $24,000 award.

NCAA names recipients of 2014 Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarships

The NCAA awarded the 2014 Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship to Karenee Demery, a California State University, Stanislaus graduate who competed in soccer, and Kyle Boden, who graduated from Emory and Henry College and competed in football. Both Demery and Boden intend to use the $24,000 renewable award to attend medical school.

Walter Byers Scholarship Committee

Chris Woodard, Committee Chair

Purpose:  The Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship Program was established as a means of recognizing the contributions of the former executive director through encouraging excellence in academic performance by student-athletes. Under this program, one male and one female student-athlete are annually awarded a postgraduate scholarship in recognition of outstanding academic achievement and potential for success in postgraduate study. It is intended that an individual named a Byers Scholar will be recognized as one who has combined the best elements of mind and body to achieve national distinction for his or her achievements, and promises to be a future leader in his or her chosen field of career service.

Composition:  Six members, including one position allocated for a man, one allocated for a woman and four unallocated.  (Adopted: 1/10/90, Revised: 5/2/13)

Walter Byers Scholarship Committee Roster


For more information regarding the Walter Byers Scholarship contact Lori Thomas.

NCAA Announces 2013 Walter Byers Scholars

The NCAA has selected South Dakota track and field student-athlete Alexa Duling and Winthrop soccer student-athlete Matt Horn as the 2013 Walter Byers Scholars. Duling and Horn each will receive a renewable $24,000 postgraduate scholarship...

2012 Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship winners announced

The NCAA has selected Brigham Young runner Miles Batty and Drury swimmer Kelsey Ward as its 2012 Walter Byers Scholars. Batty and Ward each will receive renewable awards of $24,000. The Byers Scholarships were established in 1988 and...


Subscribe to RSS - Walter Byers Scholars