Pat Summitt Award

2021 Pat Summitt Award: Nancy Stevens

Nancy Stevens, former head of the UConn field hockey program, has been selected as the recipient of the 2021 NCAA President’s Pat Summitt Award. Stevens retired in September as the winningest coach in NCAA field hockey history.

David Williams II named 2020 Pat Summitt Award recipient

David Williams II, former vice chancellor and athletics director at Vanderbilt, has been named the recipient of the 2020 NCAA President’s Pat Summitt Award.

Percy Bates named 2019 Pat Summitt Award recipient

Retired University of Michigan professor and longtime faculty athletics representative Percy Bates will receive the 2019 NCAA President’s Pat Summitt Award. Bates will accept the award Jan. 25 at the NCAA Convention in Orlando, Florida.

Julie Soriero to receive Pat Summitt Award

Julie Soriero, athletics director at MIT, will be the 2018 recipient of the NCAA President’s Pat Summitt Award. She will accept the award Jan. 18 at the 2018 NCAA Convention in Indianapolis.

NCAA President’s Pat Summitt Award

Named in recognition of Pat Summitt, the award recognizes an individual in the Association’s membership who has demonstrated devotion to the development of college athletes and has made a positive impact on their lives. It was established in 2017 by NCAA President Mark Emmert.

Award recipients are selected annually by the NCAA president and will receive a $10,000 honorarium to donate to the organization of the honoree’s choice that combats or researches neurological diseases of the brain.

Summitt was the women’s basketball head coach at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, from 1974 to 2012. She amassed a record 1,098 wins, eight NCAA championships and 32 Southeastern Conference titles. A five-time Naismith Coach of the Year, she also served as an associate athletics director at Tennessee and a member of the board of directors for the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame.

Off the court, Summitt saw every student-athlete she coached who completed eligibility earn an undergraduate degree — gaining for her program a 100 percent Graduation Success Rate throughout her career.

In August 2011, Summitt announced that she had been diagnosed with early onset dementia, and in November 2011, she created the Pat Summitt Foundation Fund, with proceeds going toward research for cognitive diseases. In 2012, President Barack Obama presented Summitt with the Presidential Medal of Freedom. Summitt died in June 2016.

Tennessee’s Joan Cronan to receive Pat Summitt Award

Joan Cronan has been named the first recipient of the newly established NCAA President’s Pat Summitt Award. GETTY IMAGES Joan Cronan, former women’s athletics director at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, has been named the first...

Subscribe to RSS - Pat Summitt Award