Awards and Honors

NCAA names 2018 Today’s Top 10 recipients

In January, 10 exceptional former student-athletes will be honored as the 2018 Today’s Top 10 Award winners at the NCAA Convention.

2018 Silver Anniversary Award: Lance Pilch

Lance Pilch always wanted to be a pilot, but there was no guarantee he would reach that goal when he enrolled at the U.S. Air Force Academy. Still, he was happy to dedicate himself to a larger cause.

2018 Silver Anniversary Award: David Morrow

Hailing from Troy, Michigan, David Morrow never dreamed of attending an Ivy League school, let alone becoming a college athlete.

2018 Silver Anniversary Award: Jason Elam

Jason Elam may be best known as a longtime star NFL kicker and two-time Super Bowl champion with the Denver Broncos, but he has devoted himself to a higher calling.

2018 Silver Anniversary Award: Nnenna Lynch

Nnenna Lynch, a seven-time All-America distance runner and national champion in the 3,000 meters at Villanova, long had a sense of how she wanted to contribute away from the track.

2018 Silver Anniversary Award: Jim Hansen

The son of an aeronautical engineer, Jim Hansen always believed he would design airplanes, which led him to study aerospace engineering at Colorado.

2018 Silver Anniversary Award: Julie Foudy

Julie Foudy grew up a Southern California sports fanatic in the 1970s. The Mission Viejo, California, native watched the Los Angeles Lakers and Rams, but her favorite sport wasn’t on television.

32 Division II schools earn academic honor

Thirty-two Division II member schools will be honored as part of the Presidents’ Award for Academic Excellence program for achieving four-year Academic Success Rates of 90 percent or higher. This is the seventh year of the program.

NCAA names 2016-17 sportsmanship award winners

The NCAA Committee on Sportsmanship and Ethical Conduct is honoring Julia Reininga, current associate athletics director and head women’s volleyball coach at Southern Wesleyan University, as the 2016-17 recipient of the Bob Frederick Sportsmanship Award. The award recognizes her careerlong demonstration of sportsmanship as a coach and associate athletics director.

Franklin recognized for championing diversity

Bernard Franklin will close the books on his distinguished time at the NCAA national office in November.


Subscribe to RSS - Awards and Honors