Awards and Honors

NCAA names 2018-19 sportsmanship award winners

The NCAA Committee on Sportsmanship and Ethical Conduct has named Janelle Perry the 2018-19 NCAA Student-Athlete Sportsmanship Award winner and Jeff Wettach with the 2018-19 Bob Frederick Sportsmanship Award.

Jackie Joyner-Kersee named 2019 Ford Award recipient

Jackie Joyner-Kersee is the 2019 recipient of the NCAA President’s Gerald R. Ford Award, which honors an individual who has provided significant leadership as an advocate for college sports.

Percy Bates named 2019 Pat Summitt Award recipient

Retired University of Michigan professor and longtime faculty athletics representative Percy Bates will receive the 2019 NCAA President’s Pat Summitt Award. Bates will accept the award Jan. 25 at the NCAA Convention in Orlando, Florida.

Texas A&M-Commerce professor wins 2018 Division II faculty award

The national Division II Student-Athlete Advisory Committee has selected Samantha Roberts of Texas A&M-Commerce as the 2018 Dr. Dave Pariser Faculty Mentor Award winner.

NCAA names 2019 Today’s Top 10 Honorees

In January, 10 exceptional former student-athletes will be honored as the 2019 Today’s Top 10 Award winners at the NCAA Convention.

2019 NCAA Inspiration Award: Shaquem Griffin

An amputated hand did not hinder Shaquem Griffin’s potential — it strengthened it.

2019 NCAA Inspiration Award: Maggie Nichols

Oklahoma gymnast Maggie Nichols hopes reporting abuse by USA Gymnastics doctor helps others feel empowered.

2019 Theodore Roosevelt Award: Lt. Gen. Robert L. Caslen Jr.

The single most important lesson Caslen took away from Army West Point was taught on the football field.

NCAA announces 2019 Silver Anniversary Award recipients

Six former student-athletes will receive the NCAA Silver Anniversary Award in January, recognizing their collegiate and professional achievements.

University of Wisconsin-River Falls earns NCAA/MOAA Diversity Award

The Wisconsin-River Falls athletics department has earned the NCAA and Minority Opportunities Athletic Association’s 2019 Award for Diversity and Inclusion.


Subscribe to RSS - Awards and Honors