Awards and Honors

Percy Bates named 2019 Pat Summitt Award recipient

Retired University of Michigan professor and longtime faculty athletics representative Percy Bates will receive the 2019 NCAA President’s Pat Summitt Award. Bates will accept the award Jan. 25 at the NCAA Convention in Orlando, Florida.

Texas A&M-Commerce professor wins 2018 Division II faculty award

The national Division II Student-Athlete Advisory Committee has selected Samantha Roberts of Texas A&M-Commerce as the 2018 Dr. Dave Pariser Faculty Mentor Award winner.

NCAA names 2019 Today’s Top 10 Honorees

In January, 10 exceptional former student-athletes will be honored as the 2019 Today’s Top 10 Award winners at the NCAA Convention.

2019 NCAA Inspiration Award: Shaquem Griffin

An amputated hand did not hinder Shaquem Griffin’s potential — it strengthened it.

2019 NCAA Inspiration Award: Maggie Nichols

Oklahoma gymnast Maggie Nichols hopes reporting abuse by USA Gymnastics doctor helps others feel empowered.

2019 Theodore Roosevelt Award: Lt. Gen. Robert L. Caslen Jr.

The single most important lesson Caslen took away from Army West Point was taught on the football field.

NCAA announces 2019 Silver Anniversary Award recipients

Six former student-athletes will receive the NCAA Silver Anniversary Award in January, recognizing their collegiate and professional achievements.

University of Wisconsin-River Falls earns NCAA/MOAA Diversity Award

The Wisconsin-River Falls athletics department has earned the NCAA and Minority Opportunities Athletic Association’s 2019 Award for Diversity and Inclusion.

Division II schools earn Presidents’ Award for Academic Excellence

The Presidents’ Award for Academic Excellence — presented to Division II member schools earning an Academic Success Rate of 90 percent or higher — will go to 27 schools in the eighth year of the program.

2018 Woman of the Year finalists named

Nine former college athletes have been selected as finalists for the 2018 NCAA Woman of the Year Award and will be honored at an awards dinner Oct. 28 in Indianapolis, where the 2018 Woman of the Year will be named. The nine finalists —...


Subscribe to RSS - Awards and Honors