Awards and Honors

2020 NCAA Inspiration Award: Rocky Bleier

The former Notre Dame football standout turned soldier turned injured veteran fought his way back to a professional football career that spanned more than a decade.

2020 Theodore Roosevelt Award: Bob Delaney

Former undercover policeman has spent his life supporting post-trauma survivors throughout his accomplished career as a highly decorated New Jersey state trooper and respected NBA referee and executive.

Angela Mercurio named the 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year

Angela Mercurio — a former Nebraska triple jumper who double majored in biochemistry and women’s and gender studies — has been named the 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year. Mercurio accepted the award at a banquet celebrating the Top 30 national honorees Sunday in Indianapolis.

2019 Woman of the Year finalists named

Nine finalists have been named for the 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year Award. Each of the nine finalists will be honored at an awards dinner Oct. 20 in Indianapolis, where the 2019 Woman of the Year will be announced.

School nominees for 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year Award named

A record 585 female college athletes have been nominated by NCAA member schools for the 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year award.

NCAA recognizes programs for academic performance

The NCAA has recognized more than 1,300 programs from 321 Division I schools for academic excellence after they scored in the top 10% of their sports in the most recent Academic Progress Rates results.

2019 AASP Career Development Award winners announced

Aayushi Chouhan of Delaware State and Javen Morrison of Alcorn State are the recipients of the 2019 Accelerating Academic Success Program Career Development Award.

MSU Texas wins 2019 DII Award of Excellence

MSU Texas won the 2019 Division II Award of Excellence for 24 Strong Week, an initiative that drove community engagement by each MSU Texas athletics team in honor of late football player Robert Grays.

NCAA names 2018-19 sportsmanship award winners

The NCAA Committee on Sportsmanship and Ethical Conduct has named Janelle Perry the 2018-19 NCAA Student-Athlete Sportsmanship Award winner and Jeff Wettach with the 2018-19 Bob Frederick Sportsmanship Award.

Jackie Joyner-Kersee named 2019 Ford Award recipient

Jackie Joyner-Kersee is the 2019 recipient of the NCAA President’s Gerald R. Ford Award, which honors an individual who has provided significant leadership as an advocate for college sports.


Subscribe to RSS - Awards and Honors