40th Anniversary

40th anniversary celebration

Division II acknowledged its 40th birthday in 2013 by conducting a year-long celebration that included selecting a 40th Anniversary Tribute team of former student-athletes who made a difference in competition during their playing days and as civic leaders after they graduated.

The 49-member Tribute Team included one male and one female from each of the division’s 23 conferences that were active in 2012-13 (the division has since added a 24th conference), plus two at-large honorees. Those honorees were recognized at the 2014 NCAA Convention in San Diego.

Developed through a partnership with the Division II Conference Commissioners Association, the 40th Anniversary Tribute Team recognizes just a few of the many former student-athletes who reflect the core values of Division II athletics.

Commissioners helped identify a diverse group of individuals from Division II’s 40-year history who not only acted as champions in athletics and in the classroom but also in their lives after college. In effect, this group is a true representation of Division II’s commitment to providing its student-athletes a “Life in the Balance” that extends beyond athletics.

Division II 40th Anniversary Tribute Team

California Collegiate Athletic Association
Violet Palmer (Cal Poly Pomona; basketball, 1983-86)
Chris Wondolowski (Cal State Chico; soccer, 2001-04)

Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference
Michelle DePolo (Georgian Court; basketball, soccer and softball, 1999-2003)
Nicholas Harriott (Caldwell; soccer, 2004-07)

Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association
Barvenia Wooten (Virginia Union; basketball, 1980-83)
Timmy Newsome (Winston-Salem State; football, 1976-79)

Conference Carolinas
Stephanie Ferri-Lewis (Pfeiffer; cross country, soccer and swimming, 1991-94)
Clint Bryant (Belmont Abbey; basketball, 1974-77)

East Coast Conference
Donna Orender [Queens (N.Y.); basketball, 1975-78]
Brian Kilmeade (LIU Post; soccer, 1982-85)

Great American Conference
Janet (Kogo) Cherobon-Bawcom (Harding; cross country and track and field, 2000-05)
Drew Beard (Southeastern Oklahoma State; football, 2001-04)

Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Gail Goestenkors (Saginaw Valley State; basketball, 1982-85)
Tom Izzo (Northern Michigan; basketball, 1974-77)

Great Lakes Valley Conference
Sandra (Hall) Magnus (Missouri S&T; soccer, 1983-86)
Larry Tucker (Lewis; basketball, 1980-83)

Great Northwest Athletic Conference
Mallory Holtman-Fletcher (Central Washington; softball, 2005-08)
Grant Dykstra (Western Washington; basketball, 2003-06)

Gulf South Conference
Rachel Price Bell and Ronda Price Brinley (North Alabama; volleyball, 1996-99)
Radovan Chrz (West Florida; tennis, 2001-04)

Heartland Conference
Kelsey (Yeatts) Baird (St. Edward’s; soccer, 2005-08)
Collin Mayer (St. Edward’s; golf, 2007-10)

Lone Star Conference
Tammi Julch-Williams (Texas Woman’s; basketball, 1991-94)
Roberto Garza (Texas A&M-Kingsville; football and track and field, 1997-2000)

Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association
Teri (Stellar) Clemens (Truman; field hockey, softball and tennis, 1974-78)
Jim Crane (Central Missouri; baseball, 1973-76)

Northeast-10 Conference
Johannah Leedham (Franklin Pierce; basketball, 2007-10)
J. Terence Carleton (Bentley; soccer, 1973-76)

Northern Sun Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Lauren Brown (Winona State; track and field and volleyball, 2007-10)
Bob Bowlsby (Minnesota State Moorhead; wrestling, 1972-75)

Pacific West Conference
Samantha Murphy (Grand Canyon; basketball, 2008-11)
Tsung-Hsien “Jet” Chang (Brigham Young-Hawaii; basketball, 2009-12)

Peach Belt Conference
Amy (Amundson) Smith (Georgia College; basketball, 1989-92)
Stilian Shishkov (Lander; soccer, 1993-95)

Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference
Lori Pio Jacques (East Stroudsburg; basketball, 1993-96)
David Williams (Bloomsburg; tennis, 1978-81)

Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference
Elva Martinez-Dryer (Western State; cross country and track and field, 1991-95)
Danny Woodhead (Chadron State; football, 2004-07)

South Atlantic Conference
Kate Griewisch (Lenoir-Rhyne; cross country and indoor and outdoor track and field, 2008-12)
Patrick Bartlett (Wingate; basketball, soccer and tennis, 1996-2000)

Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Selina (Bynum) Kohn [Albany State (Georgia); basketball, 1990-93]
Edwin Moses (Morehouse; track and field, 1974-78)

Sunshine State Conference
Anna Hallbergson-Lewis (Barry, tennis, 1997-2000)
Ken Corigliano (Saint Leo, cross country, 2002-05)

West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Mindy Young-Gagliardi (Pittsburgh-Johnstown, basketball, 1989-92)
Sean Isgan (Pittsburgh-Johnstown, wrestling, 1978-82)

At Large
Sheila Baxter (Virginia State, basketball, 1974-77)
Shane Carwin (Western State, football and wrestling, 1995-99)

DII honorees share how sports impacted their lives
DII honorees share how sports impacted their lives

By Brian Hendrickson Brian Kilmeade learned more from what he thought was his failure as a student-athlete than from any of his successes. But he realized it only as he started pursuing a career that led him to become a host of the Fox...

Subscribe to RSS - 40th Anniversary