You are here

COVID-19 Medical Advisory Group

The NCAA COVID-19 Medical Advisory Group includes medical professionals from all three divisions and each of the Autonomy 5 conferences, plus representatives from organizations and medical groups that have been working collaboratively with the original advisory panel and NCAA membership. 

The purpose of the Medical Advisory Group includes:

  • Reviewing emerging COVID-19 research and data to provide guidance to the NCAA membership regarding training, practice and competition, with a primary focus on testing paradigms and mitigating infection spread.
  • Specifically providing guidance regarding appropriate COVID-19 protocols applicable to training, practice and competition in winter and spring sports.
  • Providing guidance for conducting all sports competitions and championships, including on-site management of student-athletes and essential personnel, nonessential personnel and fans.
  • Providing guidance related to physiological, medical and mental health consequences of COVID-19.
  • Assessing other emerging information such as vaccines and new medical treatments for the purpose of providing guidance to NCAA member schools.

Committee Members

  • Dr. Chad Asplund, professor, family medicine and orthopedics at Mayo Clinic
  • Dr. Doug Aukerman, senior associate athletics director for sports medicine at Oregon State
  • Dr. Arthur Caplan, professor and founding head of the division of medical ethics at NYU School of Medicine and chair of the Compassionate Use Advisory Committee
  • Dr. Deena Casiero, director of sports medicine, head team physician at Connecticut
  • Dr. Jeremy Cauwels, chief medical officer and senior vice president of quality at Sanford Health
  • Dr. Stephanie Chu, team physician at Colorado and member of the NCAA Committee on Competitive Safeguards and Medical Aspects of Sport
  • Dr. Jay Clugston, team physician at Florida
  • Dr. Carly Day, head team physician at Purdue
  • Dr. Carlos del Rio, distinguished professor of medicine at Emory University School of Medicine and professor of global health and epidemiology at the Rollins School of Public Health of Emory University
  • Dr. Kyle Goerl, director of student health at Kansas State
  • Murphy Grant, Sr. Associate AD, Athletics Health Care Administrator at Wake Forest University
  • Dr. Nicholas Haddad, associate professor of infectious disease at Central Michigan
  • Dr. Leon McDougle, chief diversity officer, professor of family medicine at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center; associate dean for diversity and inclusion at The Ohio State University; president of the National Medical Association
  • Dr. Mark Stovak, team physician at Nevada and second vice president of the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine
  • Dr. Jeff Williams, director of athletics at East Central University
  • Dr. Cameron Wolfe, associate professor of medicine at Duke and associate of the Duke Initiative for Science & Society

NCAA Staff Liaisons

  • Dr. Brian Hainline, NCAA chief medical officer
  • Col. (Ret.) Dallas Hack, former director of the combat casualty care research program for the Department of Defense
  • Cari Van Senus, NCAA vice president of policy and chief of staff
  • Anthony Holman, NCAA managing director of championships
  • JoAn Scott, NCAA managing director of the Division I men’s basketball championship

Student-Athlete Liaisons

  • Paxton Blanchard, Keene State College lacrosse player and Division III Student-Athlete Advisory Committee member
  • Wiley Cain, Kentucky Wesleyan College football player and Committee on Competitive Safeguards and Medical Aspects of Sports student-athlete representative
  • Dominic Franklin, Texas Southern University football player and Division I Student-Athlete Advisory Committee member
  • Bianca Lockamy, Virginia Union basketball player and Division II Student-Athlete Advisory Committee member
  • Krissy Ortiz, former Lynn University golfer and Division I Student-Athlete Experience Committee student-athlete representative
  • Corbin Thaete, Cal State San Marcos soccer player and Division II Student-Athlete Advisory Committee member