You are here

Division I Sport Organizational Structure Working Group

Stemming from the August 2015 Strategic Summit, The Board of Directors created the Division I Sport Organizational Structure Working Group. The working group is a presidentially led body with members consisting of presidents, student-athlete, directors of athletics and faculty athletics representative. One of the most important elements of the collegiate model is that a broad and diverse group of student-athletes have the opportunity to participate in a wide variety of sports. A continued commitment to gender equity and multi-sport sponsorship to member schools is therefore critical to the future of the Division I collegiate model of sports. This multi-sport sponsorship commitment by institutions should include a range of approaches suitable to specific institutions in the division as a whole.

Division I Sport Organizational Structure Working Group roster:

Name Representing Position
Mitch Barnhart Southeastern Conference, University of Kentucky Athletics director
Bob Bowlsby Big 12 Conference Commissioner
Dean Bresciani The Summit League, North Dakota State University President
Vicki Chun Patriot League, Colgate University Athletics director
Tim Cost Atlantic Sun Conference, Jacksonville University President
Michael Drake Big 10 Conference, the Ohio State University President
Robert Frank Mountain West Conference, University of New Mexico President
Keith Gill Atlantic 10 Conference, University of Richmond Athletics director
Nayef Samhat Southern Conference, Wofford College President
Rachel Scott University of Texas at Austin Student-athlete
Clifton Smart, co-chair Missouri Valley Conference, Missouri State University President
Harry Williams Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, Delaware State University President
Randy Woodson, co-chair Atlantic Coast Conference, North Carolina State University Chancellor