Division II Membership

Division II is a collection of 300 NCAA colleges and universities that provide thousands of student-athletes the opportunity to compete at a high level of scholarship athletics while excelling in the classroom and fully engaging in the broader campus experience.

Division II schools are located in 44 states, including Alaska and Hawaii, and the District of Columbia. The division also expands its membership into Canada with the NCAA’s only international member institution, Simon Fraser University, and features three schools located in Puerto Rico.

Enrollments at Division II schools range from more than 25,000 to less than 2,500, though about 87 percent of the division’s member colleges and universities have fewer than 8,000 students.

Most Division II member schools are organized among 24 conferences for the purposes of athletics competition, though a handful of Division II schools are classified as independents.