You are here

Wisconsin-Eau Claire claims first title

2015 Division III Men’s Indoor Track and Field

In its final moments, the Division III Men’s Indoor Track and Field Championships was a battle between two University of Wisconsin schools. One, the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, had claimed 29 track and field championships and entered the last day of competition at the top of the leaderboard. The other, the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, was chasing its first national title and trailed three teams heading into the final day. In the end, Wisconsin-Eau Claire stormed back, finishing two points ahead of its state rival and claiming the championships.

The victories of Roger Steen in shot put, Brandon Zarnoth in the heptathlon and the team of Adam Moline, Ryan Graham, William LaJeunesse Jr. and Josh Thorson in the distance medley relay gave Wisconsin-Eau Claire an invaluable boost. Before the final event of the championships, the Blugolds led their conference rivals by seven points. 

Eau Claire placed 10th out of 12 teams in the 4x400-meter relay, and although Wisconsin-La Crosse gained ground with a fourth-place finish, it was not enough to overcome the Blugolds.

The victory was redemption for Wisconsin-Eau Claire, which placed second behind Wisconsin-La Crosse at both the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference meet this year and the national indoor championships in 2014.

“This has been my goal since I’ve been at Eau Claire,” said Chip Schneider, coach of the men’s team for 13 years. “A lot of people had me believing I couldn’t do it at Eau Claire, but I knew we could.”  

The Results

2015 Division III Men’s Indoor Track and Field

1. Wisconsin-Eau Claire, 62
2. Wisconsin-La Crosse, 60
3. Mount Union, 40

Daniel Bonthius, Wartburg

About Champion

Champion magazine goes behind the headlines and beyond the scoreboards to celebrate the unique connection between Americans and college sports. Champion is published by the NCAA.