You are here

Florida Southern completes its mission

2015 Division II Men’s Basketball

What were you doing in 1981?

The answer for the entire roster of the Florida Southern College men’s basketball team is: They weren’t born. Still, the 2014-15 edition of the Moccasins is now forever linked with the 1980-81 team – both are NCAA Division II national champions.

Florida Southern captured this year’s title with a 77-62 victory over Indiana University of Pennsylvania in the championship game of the tournament on March 28. The run was especially sweet for the Moccasins’ six-man senior class, five of whom – Stephen Battle, Kevin Capers, Bubby Johnson, Tyler Kelly and Tyler Logan – started every game of the 36-1 season.

“We've got a great group of guys that represent Florida Southern not only on the court, but off the court, and I can't be prouder to be their coach and I'm going to miss them,” said Florida Southern coach Linc Darner, who improved to 218-72 in his ninth season at the helm of the Moccasin program.

Kelly added: “We’ve been talking about this all year, actually all four years; we said we wanted to get coach Darner a ring. We don’t get (rings) for a conference championship. We won, but we don’t get a ring for those. We just talked about it all year.”

The Results

2015 Division II Men’s Basketball

Florida Southern 77, Indiana (Pennsylvania) 62

Florida Southern 79, Bellarmine 76
Indiana (Pennsylvania) 72, Tarleton State 68

Tyler Logan, Florida Southern

About Champion

Champion magazine goes behind the headlines and beyond the scoreboards to celebrate the unique connection between Americans and college sports. Champion is published by the NCAA.