You are here

Savannah State to become active DII member

Membership Committee approves other reclassification advances

Savannah State will become the newest member of Division II beginning Sept. 1.

The Division II Membership Committee made the decision earlier this week in a videoconference after Savannah State successfully completed the two-year reclassification process from Division I to Division II. As an active member, Savannah State will be eligible for all Division II benefits, including the ability to compete in NCAA Division II championships and a vote at the NCAA Convention.

The Division II membership will total 302 colleges and universities in 2020-21.

Two schools also were approved to begin the Division II membership process and will enter provisional year one in the fall: Allen and D’Youville. Allen will transition from the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics, while D’Youville will transition from Division III. Both moves to Division II require at least a three-year membership process.

Texas-Tyler advanced to provisional year three of the three-year reclassification process from Division III to Division II. Staten Island and Frostburg State, both transitioning from Division III to Division II, advanced to provisional year two of the three-year process.