You are here

NCAA salutes top academic winners from fall championships

Twenty-two student-athletes were presented with Elite 89 awards at each of their respective fall championships

Three repeat winners and one school with multiple winners highlight the Elite 89 awards from the NCAA 2013 fall championships.

Loren Shealy, a junior field hockey student-athlete at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, Maggie Harding, a senior women’s volleyball student-athlete at Pennsylvania State University and David Lonnberg, a junior men’s water polo student-athlete at St. Francis College Brooklyn all won the Elite 89 award during their respective championships in 2012.

In addition, Hope College (Michelle Kerr – women’s cross country, and Jayne Kessel – women’s volleyball) featured two student-athletes named as award winners.

The Elite 89, an award founded by the NCAA, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The Elite 89 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s 89 championships.

All GPAs are based on a straight grading scale to ensure consistency among institutions. All ties are broken by the number of credits completed.

Eligible student-athletes are sophomores or above who have participated in their sport for at least two years with their school. They must be an active member of the team, traveling and competing at the championship.

The 22 award winners by sport and division (I, II, III or National Collegiate), school and major of study and GPA are:

Sport (Division)



Major (GPA)

Men’s Cross Country (I)

Reed Kamyszek


Biochemistry and Psychology (4.0)

Men’s Cross Country (II)

Ben Barrows

Central Missouri

Mathematics (4.0)

Men’s Cross Country (III)

Nathan Rosenbaum

Ohio Northern

Mechanical Engineering (4.0)

Women’s Cross Country (I)

Devin McMahon


Biological Sciences (4.0)

Women’s Cross Country (II)

Emma Love

West Texas A&M

Sports and Exercise Science (4.0)

Women’s Cross Country (III)

Michelle Kerr


Nursing (4.0)

Field Hockey (I)

*Loren Shealy

North Carolina

Business Administration (4.0)

Field Hockey (II)

Lucy Kauffman


Biology (3.925)

Field Hockey (III)

Haley Quillen


Mathematics (3.932)

Football (FCS)

Carson Wentz

North Dakota State University

Physical Education (4.0)

Football (II)

Trevor Adams

Northwest Missouri State

Biology and Psychology (3.940)

Football (III)

Hank Spencer

Mount Union

Computer Science (4.0)

Men’s Soccer (I)

Michael Shipp

Notre Dame

Science Pre-Professional Studies (4.0)

Men’s Soccer (II)

Brad Campion

Southern New Hampshire

History and Social Studies Education (3.968)

Men’s Soccer (III)

Nathan Eagan


Marketing (4.0)

Women’s Soccer (I)

Katie Yensen

Virginia Tech

Biology (3.980)

Women’s Soccer (II)

Bryony Parker

American International

Psychology and Communications (3.990)

Women’s Soccer (III)

Emily Jorgens

Trinity (Texas)

Business Administration (4.0)

Women’s Volleyball (I)

*Maggie Harding

Penn State

Food Sciences (4.0)

Women’s Volleyball (II)

Kara Pioske

Concordia-St. Paul

Biology (3.990)

Women’s Volleyball (III)

Jayne Kessel


Chemistry (4.0)

Men’s Water Polo

*David Lonnberg

St. Francis Brooklyn

Political Science (3.985)

*Repeat award winner


For more information on the Elite 89 award winners, log on to