You are here

NCAA invites 30 to Future Football Coaches Academy

The NCAA has invited 30 individuals who have an interest in coaching college football to its Future Coaches Academy, Jan. 8-10, in San Antonio, Texas.   The Academy will be held in conjunction with the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) convention.

The Future Football Coaches Academy is for individuals who have recently completed their collegiate eligibility and have a desire to enter the college football coaching profession.   The goal of the Academy is to assist with career advancement, networking and exposure opportunities, and to raise awareness regarding the substantial pool of talented and qualified coaching candidates.  

The Academy will cover intercollegiate academic issues; how to build a successful football program; career opportunities within intercollegiate athletics; communication techniques; diversity and inclusion; lifestyle balance; management and fiscal responsibilities; NCAA compliance considerations; and the preparation of student-athletes for overall academic and athletic achievement in college.

The Future Football Coaches Academy is the first of four programs in the NCAA’s Coaching Academy series.   The academies were created to address the limited number of minority coaches at the head coach level in intercollegiate athletics.   The NCAA also offers the Coaches Academy program (coaches with three-eight years of experience); the Expert Coaches Academy (coaches with eight or more years of experience); and the top-tier Champions Academy for individuals who have gone through the Expert Academy and are ready for an immediate transition to a head coaching position.

The 30 individuals selected for the Futures Football Coaches Academy are:

  • Ola Adams, Concord University
  • Joshua Christian-Young, University of Central Missouri
  • Chris Couch, Georgia Southern University
  • Thomas Di Nino, Indiana University
  • Charlie Drewek, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Devin Ducote, Stephen F. Austin University
  • Matthew Ebner, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
  • Hudson Fuller, Millsaps College
  • Marcus Gladden, East Carolina University
  • Marcus Gurdineer, Utica College
  • Sean Hall, Ursinus College
  • Greg Harbaugh, Jr., Averett University
  • Michael Hart, University of Michigan
  • Myers Hendrickson, Western Illinois University
  • Jon Howard, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Mike McElroy, Southern Illinois University
  • Joshua Moore, Georgia State University
  • Sadiq Muhammad, University of Kansas
  • Nathaniel Newton, University of Texas at Austin
  • Josh Painter, Coastal Carolina University
  • Edward Park, Georgia Tech University
  • Aubrey Pleasant, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Ed Raby Jr., Alma College
  • Nate Robinson, Macmurray College
  • Jarred Rutherford, Georgia State University
  • Gordon Sammis, University of Virginia
  • Michael Silipo, Ithaca College
  • Quinderra Spellman, North Carolina Wesleyan College
  • Courtney Viney, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Melvin Williams, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill