You are here

Leibovitz named chair of DI Men’s Basketball Competition Committee

Five new members added to advisory group

Dan Leibovitz, the Southeastern Conference associate commissioner for men’s basketball, will be the new chair of the Division I Men’s Basketball Competition Committee.

Leibovitz, who joined the SEC in June 2016, replaces Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany as chair of the committee, which reports directly to the Division I Men’s Basketball Oversight Committee in an advisory role. The competition committee develops strategic principles through its regular review of student-athlete health and safety, sportsmanship and integrity, game operations and presentation, technology and statistical trends.

The competition committee was instrumental, along with the NCAA Men’s Basketball Rules Committee, in recent rules changes that have improved the flow and pace of games. This season, rules changes studied and supported by the competition committee include the adoption of a deeper 3-point line (FIBA distance) and reset of the shot clock to only 20 seconds on an offensive rebound in the front court.

During the upcoming two-year rules cycle, the competition committee will prioritize analyzing potential rules changes involving the use of technology in the bench area for coaching purposes during games.

New members of the committee are:

  • Chris Holtmann, Ohio State men’s basketball coach.
  • Brandon McKissic, University of Missouri-Kansas City student-athlete.
  • Rodney Terry, UTEP men’s basketball coach.
  • Carla Williams, Virginia director of athletics.
  • Tom Wistrcill, Big Sky Conference commissioner.