You are here

DIII elects new Management Council members as Convention wraps up

Dan Dutcher says farewell during business session to close 25 years as division’s vice president

No action was taken on name, image and likeness legislation at the Division III business session during the 2021 virtual NCAA Convention on Friday.

The Division III Presidents Council, which sponsored the proposal, withdrew the lone item on the division’s legislative proposals list Thursday during its meeting. The decision was discussed with the membership at Thursday’s issues forum where Division III schools and conferences asked questions about the withdrawal with representatives from the Presidents Council, Management Council, Division III Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and NCAA staff.

The membership approved the Division III Official Notice as amended with a vote of 459-1.

New Management Council members

The membership elected five new Management Council members whose terms will become effective at the conclusion of the 2021 NCAA Convention and expire in January 2025.

  • Catherine Corcoran, senior associate director of athletics and senior woman administrator at Cabrini.
  • Tom DiCamillo, commissioner at State University of New York Athletic Conference.
  • Angela Marin, associate director of athletics and senior woman administrator at Texas-Dallas.
  • Betsy Mitchell, director of athletics at Caltech.
  • Bill Stiles, director of athletics at Alvernia.

Farewell, Dan Dutcher

NCAA Vice President of Division III Dan Dutcher said goodbye to the Division III membership at his final NCAA Convention after a 25-year career leading the division. Dutcher, who has served as the Association’s Division III vice president since January 1996, will retire at the end of the month after 34 years with the NCAA. He began his career at the national office in 1986 as a legislative assistant before becoming director of legislative services from 1991-96.

Joe Onderko, commissioner of the Presidents’ Athletic Conference and current president of the Division III Commissioners Association, was among those who shared farewells to Dutcher. Onderko said the DIIICA’s Meritorious Service Award will be renamed the Daniel T. Dutcher Meritorious Service Award.