You are here

DI board appoints working group members

Groups to study revenue distribution, sport sponsorship

Two working groups this fall will begin addressing issues identified in August during the Division I Strategic Summit. 

A selection of Division I leaders will serve on the Values-Based Revenue Distribution Working Group and the Sport Organizational Structure Working Group. These individuals were appointed by the Division I Administrative Committee of the Division I Board of Directors, which handles tasks that arise between quarterly board meetings.

The board created both groups after reviewing outcomes and principles formed during the summit, where presidents, faculty, administrators and students gathered to discuss the future of Division I.  

The Values-Based Revenue Distribution Working Group will examine how financial distributions to Division I members could better align with the core values of the Association. Board members expressed interest in examining the addition of an academic component to the distribution. William Ruud, Presidential Forum vice-chair and president at the University of Northern Iowa, and Christine Copper, a Division I board member and U.S. Naval Academy faculty athletics representative, will chair the group. 

The Sport Organizational Structure Working Group will look at the components of the multisport sponsorship commitment by Division I schools. The board encouraged the group to explore a range of approaches most appropriate for the division. Board member Clifton Smart, president at Missouri State University, and Presidential Forum member Randy Woodson, chancellor at North Carolina State University, will co-chair the group. 

The groups will provide recommendations to the board within the next 12 to 18 months.  

The working groups’ compositions feature members who serve on the Board of Directors, Presidential Forum or Council. They likely will engage other individuals and affiliated organizations for assistance. 

Rosters of the groups are below.

Value-based Revenue Distribution Working Group

Name Conference/School Position
Eli Capilouto Southeastern Conference, University of Kentucky President
Christine Copper, co-chair Patriot League/FARA, Navy FAR
John Crain Southland Conference, Southeastern Louisiana University President
Phil DiStefano Pacific-12 Conference, University of Colorado at Boulder Chancellor
Sandy Hatfield Clubb Missouri Valley Conference, Drake University Athletics director
Blake James Atlantic Coast Conference, University of Miami Athletics director
Roderick McDavis Mid-American Conference, Ohio University President
Dusty Page Northern Illinois University Student-athlete
Daniel Papp Atlantic Sun Conference, Kennesaw State University President
Carol Quillen Atlantic 10 Conference, Davidson University President
William Ruud, co-chair Missouri Valley Conference, Northern Iowa University President
Denise Trauth Sun Belt Conference, Texas State University President

Sport Organization Structure Working Group

Name Representing Position
Mitch Barnhart Southeastern Conference, University of Kentucky Athletics director
Bob Bowlsby Big 12 Conference Commissioner
Dean Bresciani The Summit League, North Dakota State University President
Vicki Chun Patriot League, Colgate University Athletics director
Tim Cost Atlantic Sun Conference, Jacksonville University President
Michael Drake Big 10 Conference, the Ohio State University President
Robert Frank Mountain West Conference, University of New Mexico President
Keith Gill Atlantic 10 Conference, University of Richmond Athletics director
Nayef Samhat Southern Conference, Wofford College President
Rachel Scott University of Texas at Austin Student-athlete
Clifton Smart, co-chair Missouri Valley Conference, Missouri State University President
Harry Williams Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, Delaware State University President
Randy Woodson, co-chair Atlantic Coast Conference, North Carolina State University Chancellor

What people are saying:

“As we plan for the future of collegiate athletics, the Sport Organizational Structure Working Group will perform important work to guide the NCAA.  The group will evaluate the current organizational structure and find opportunities to make organizational rules more flexible.  The group’s goal is to allow as many institutions as possible to compete at the highest level while preserving student athletes’ access to quality programs.”

— Clifton Smart, president, Missouri State University, and co-chair of the Sport Organizational Structure Group

“The Knight Commission is extremely pleased that a working group will examine a values-based revenue distribution system. The commission has long championed changes to the way shared revenues are divided so that there is less emphasis on competitive success and a greater priority on supporting educational values and outcomes,”  

— William E. “Brit” Kirwan, co-chair of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics and chancellor emeritus of the University System of Maryland

“The commission is encouraged by the positive actions presidents are taking to first prioritize the critical issues and second, working alongside commissioners, athletics directors, faculty and athletes to address them. We believe these working groups have a tremendous opportunity to define the next era of college sports.”

— R. Gerald Turner, co-chair of the Knight Commission and president of Southern Methodist University

"I am looking forward to working with this distinguished group of academic and athletic leaders as we study the current NCAA revenue distribution plan. Together we will work to define a distribution model that better reflects what we truly value as participants in this higher education association that revolves around collegiate athletics." 

— Christine Copper, faculty athletics representative at the U.S. Naval Academy and co-chair of the Values-Based Revenue Distribution Working Group