Our Three Divisions

The NCAA’s three divisions were created in 1973 to align like-minded campuses in the areas of philosophy, competition and opportunity.


Division I

Division II

Division III







*Numbers do not include provisional or reclassifying schools.


Median Undergraduate Enrollment




Students Who Are Athletes

1 in 23

1 in 10

1 in 6

Percentage of Student-Athletes in Division
Athletics Scholarships
Multiyear, cost-of-attendance athletics scholarships available
57 percent of athletes receive athletics aid
Partial athletics scholarship
60 percent of athletes receive athletics aid
No athletics scholarships
80 percent of athletes receive non-athletics aid

What are the eligibility requirements in each division?

College-bound students who want to compete at a Division I or Division II school must meet standards set by NCAA members. For Division III, athletes must meet the admissions standards set by the school. Eligibility standards can be found here.


How is each division governed?

NCAA schools develop and approve legislation for their own division. Groups of presidents and chancellors lead each division in the form of committees with regularly scheduled meetings.


Did You Know?

Division I student-athletes graduate at a higher rate than the general student body.

Division II is the only division with schools in Alaska, Puerto Rico and Canada.

Division III's largest school has 25,725 undergraduates. The smallest? 285.




< What is the NCAA     |     Download this Page     |     How We Support College Athletes >