NCAA names 2020 Jim McKay Scholarship winner

Abigail Holland of Trinity (Texas) will receive a $10,000 Jim McKay Scholarship, awarded by the NCAA to college athletes who demonstrate achievement in sports communication or public relations or hope to contribute to the field.

NCAA names 2020 Byers Scholarship recipients

An NCAA committee with oversight of the Walter Byers Graduate Scholarship selected two former student-athletes as recipients of the 2020 awards.

Student-athletes among 2016 Rhodes Scholars

Four of the 32 students selected this week as Rhodes Scholars are current or former NCAA student-athletes. Each will receive a fully funded opportunity to study at the University of Oxford in England for at least two years. Each scholarship is valued at $50,000 per year.


NCAA Divisions I and II schools provide more than $3.6 billion in athletics scholarships annually to more than 180,000 student-athletes. Division III schools do not offer athletics scholarships. Only about two-percent of high school...

NCAA awards two Jim McKay scholarships

Bryan Baumgartner of Edinboro University of Pennsylvania and Kimberly “Kimmy” Borza of the University of Pittsburgh win 2014 Jim McKay scholarships.

NCAA names recipients of 2014 Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarships

The NCAA awarded the 2014 Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship to Karenee Demery, a California State University, Stanislaus graduate who competed in soccer, and Kyle Boden, who graduated from Emory and Henry College and competed in football. Both Demery and Boden intend to use the $24,000 renewable award to attend medical school.

Ethnic Minority and Women’s Enhancement Graduate Scholarship

*/ The Ethnic Minority and Women's Enhancement Graduate Scholarship were developed by the NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics and the NCAA Minority Opportunities and Interests Committee. The goal of the enhancement programs is to increase...

Division II Degree Completion Award Program

The NCAA established the Division II Degree Completion Award Program in 2001 to provide deserving student-athletes financial assistance for them to complete their first baccalaureate degree. Candidates will be students who have exhausted their athletics eligibility.

NCAA Division I Degree Completion Award Program

The NCAA Division I Degree Completion Award Program was established in 1989 to assist student-athletes who could not complete their education during their five-year eligibility period. To be eligible to apply for the program, a student-...

Multiyear scholarship rule narrowly upheld

By Michelle Brutlag Hosick Multiyear scholarship legislation, one of several measures the Division I Board of Directors adopted in the wake of an August 2011 presidential retreat, was upheld in a membership override vote that concluded...

Subscribe to RSS - Scholarships