Division II

Make-A-Wish: Arkansas Tech

After a successful year of fundraising for Make-A-Wish, the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) at Arkansas Tech had the opportunity to host a wish reveal. Dustin, a pediatric cancer survivor, was honored during between Arkansas Tech’s basketball double header against Harding University. Dustin learned that his wish to go on a shopping spree would come true, sharing his hopes to buy a PlayStation with his wish.

Experience Dustin’s Special Day >
Award of Excellence: Central Washington

Central Washington University Athletics and Lincoln Elementary School joined forced to sponsor a local “sparrow” which is a child in medical need. Avory, a local Ellensburg 12-year-old and sixth grade student at Kittitas Elementary, was born prematurely and continues to experience chronic complications due to her premature birth. On Thursday, November 15, 2015, Avory was celebrated by CWU in an evening called, “Avory’s night” where she was named an honorary coach for the Wildcats’ volleyball match against Saint Martin’s. She was also fully included in the team’s activites that evening and made the ceremonial first serve in the match.

Read more about Avory’s honor >