You are here

Thirteenth time is the charm for SUNY Cortland

2015 Division III Baseball

Since 1995, the State University of New York at Cortland has made regular appearances at the finals site of the NCAA Division III Baseball Championship. The Red Dragons have been one of the last eight teams standing in the tournament 13 times, including runner-up finishes 2005 and 2010.

Now, SUNY Cortland finally knows the feeling of being the national champion after sweeping the best-of-three championship series over the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse on May 27 in in Appleton, Wisconsin.

The Red Dragons, who dropped only four games all season, took the first game of the championship series 11-3 and followed that up by rallying for five runs in the top of the ninth en route to a 6-2 victory to clinch the title. SUNY Cortland’s Nick Hart and Austin Clock each had two-run singles in the championship-winning rally.

“This was one of the most gut-wrenching games I've ever coached in my life,” SUNY Cortland coach Joe Brown said.

The Red Dragons are the first New York school to win the Division III national championship since Ithaca in 1988. Brown, coincidentally, was a member of that Ithaca team.

The Results
2015 Division III Baseball

Game 1: SUNY Cortland 11, Wis.-La Crosse 3
Game 2: SUNY Cortland 6, Wis.-La Crosse 2

Dan Fein, Salisbury

About Champion

Champion magazine goes behind the headlines and beyond the scoreboards to celebrate the unique connection between Americans and college sports. Champion is published by the NCAA.

Subscribe to NCAA Champion Magazine >
Subscribe to the Podcast >