You are here

Limestone keeps its cool

2015 Division II Men’s Lacrosse

Limestone College found itself in an unusual situation. The Saints, who this season set the Division II record for single-season wins and whose average margin of victory was 10 goals, trailed Le Moyne entering the fourth quarter of the Division II Men’s Lacrosse National Championship game. Their coach, though, wasn’t rattled.

“I really felt like we were right where we needed to be,” Limestone head coach J.B. Clarke said.

Despite the deficit, Clarke was right – Limestone dominated the last 15 minutes. Sophomore Kevin Reisman won the fourth-quarter faceoff and junior Mike Messenger tied the score eight seconds later. The Saints won the next possession and Messenger added the go-ahead goal, one of three he would score in the period. Le Moyne fired just two shots in the final quarter and Limestone won, 9-6, capturing its second consecutive national championship.

“We decided to dig in the second half and realized the three‑goal lead in the first half was nothing, just a couple of goals,” Messenger said. “Lacrosse is a game of runs. We just had to get our game started.”

Le Moyne led 3-0 six minutes into the game. Even though they weren’t accustomed to trailing, the Saints followed their coach’s lead and didn’t succumb to the pressure in the season’s biggest game.  

“I’ve learned over the years that your team kind of takes on your personality a little bit,” Clarke said. “And I wanted to make sure that I didn't show any panic there at the end.” 

The Results
2015 Division II Men’s Lacrosse

Limestone 9, Le Moyne 6

Limestone 16, Lake Erie 6
Le Moyne 8, Merrimack 7 (ot)

Cade Kelleher, Le Moyne

About Champion

Champion magazine goes behind the headlines and beyond the scoreboards to celebrate the unique connection between Americans and college sports. Champion is published by the NCAA.

Subscribe to NCAA Champion Magazine >
Subscribe to the Podcast >