You are here

Nominations for Sportsmanship, Bob Frederick awards now being accepted

Both awards will accept nominees through June 17

The NCAA Committee on Sportsmanship and Ethical Conduct is seeking nominations for the 2013-14 NCAA Student-Athlete Sportsmanship and Bob Frederick Awards.

This year, the committee requests that nominations be sent directly from institutions to the NCAA. Conference approval and submission of nominations to the NCAA is no longer required; however, institutions are asked to notify their conferences of nominations they have sent. The submission deadline is June 17. (Click here for nomination forms)

The awards honor student-athletes who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The awards are administered by the Committee on Sportsmanship and Ethical Conduct, which was established in 1997.

From the nominees, the committee can select up to six divisional honorees — one male and one female (individual or group) from each division — as well as one team chosen from all divisions.

The committee is also seeking nominations for the Bob Frederick Award, which honors one coach, administrator or staff member each year.

The Frederick Award, first presented in 2009 to honor the late Kansas and Illinois State athletic director, is awarded annually to an NCAA coach or administrator who exhibits a lifelong commitment to sportsmanship and ethical conduct, leading by example and promoting positive fan involvement in and out of competition.

Nominations for the Frederick Award are not gender or division specific.

Information regarding the sportsmanship awards can be found here.  Nomination forms and questions concerning the nomination process can be sent to