You are here

NCAA forms search committee for inclusion/HR executive

NCAA President Mark Emmert has named a national search committee to help identify candidates for the newly created senior position of executive vice president of inclusion and human resources.

The 12-member committee will guide the effort to fill the position that Emmert developed when he combined the NCAA’s inclusion and human resources functions. The role will report directly to Emmert and have primary responsibility for diversity and inclusion, leadership development and training, and human resources. 

Emmert’s goal is for the committee’s work to occur during the transition of his two retiring executives, Bernard Franklin (chief inclusion officer) and Bob Fiala (managing director of human resources).

Glendell Jones, president of Henderson State, will chair the search committee. Jones is vice chair of the NCAA Board of Governors and co-founder and former president of the National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education.

Members of the search committee include:

  • Nnenna Akotaobi, chair of the NCAA Minority Opportunities and Interests Committee and senior woman administrator, Swarthmore.
  • Chris Byrd, treasurer of the College and University Professional Association for Human Resources and vice president of human resources, University of South Carolina, Columbia.
  • Michael Drake, co-chair of the NCAA Board of Governors Ad Hoc Committee To Promote Cultural Diversity and Equity and president, Ohio State.
  • Stan Johnson, executive director of the Minorities Opportunities Athletic Association.
  • Brit Katz, member of the NCAA Board of Governors; chair of the Division III Management Council; and vice president and dean of student life, Millsaps.
  • Felicia Martin, vice president, NCAA Eligibility Center.
  • Jacqueline McWilliams, member of the Gender Equity Task Force and commissioner, Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association.
  • Sherika Montgomery, chair of the NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics and associate director of athletics, Winthrop.
  • Patti Phillips, chief executive officer of Women Leaders in College Sports (formerly NACWAA).
  • Lee Reed, president of the McLendon Foundation and director of athletics, Georgetown.
  • Larry Scott, commissioner, Pac-12 Conference.

Donald Remy, NCAA executive vice president of law, policy and governance, will serve as staff liaison to the search committee. The national search is assisted by the global search firm Heidrick & Struggles.