You are here

Kevin White to chair DI Men’s Basketball Committee in 2019-20

Duke athletics director will serve as vice chair for 2018-19 season

Kevin White, the vice president and director of athletics at Duke, has been named the chair of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee for the 2019-20 season. White will serve as vice chair of the committee for the upcoming season, working with 2018-19 committee chair Bernard Muir, who is the director of athletics at Stanford.

White, who previously held athletics director positions at Notre Dame, Arizona State, Tulane, Maine and Loras, has been on the Men’s Basketball Committee since the 2015-16 season. He is a member of the United States Olympic Committee board of directors and is a past president of the Division 1A Athletic Directors’ Association and the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics. Since his arrival at Duke in 2008, the Blue Devils have won seven national championships, including men’s basketball titles in 2010 and 2015.

A former assistant track and field coach at Central Michigan and head track and field coach at Southeast Missouri State, White was a collegiate sprinter and a 1972 graduate of Saint Joseph’s (Indiana). White earned a master’s degree from Central Michigan and completed postdoctoral work at Harvard after he completed his doctorate from Southern Illinois in 1983. His son Michael is the head men’s basketball coach at Florida, while another son, Danny, is the vice president and director of athletics at the University of Central Florida, and son Brian is the vice president and director of athletics at Florida Atlantic. His daughter Mariah Chappell is the assistant athletics director for administration at SMU, while his other daughter, Maureen Treadway, is an English teacher at Notre Dame Prep in Scottsdale, Arizona.

“It’s an incredible honor to serve on this committee, and to be selected to take a leadership role by my esteemed colleagues is quite humbling,” White said. “While our primary charge is to be caretakers of the Division I men’s basketball tournament, there is a responsibility to be stewards of the sport of college basketball, and that’s a daily task we all take very seriously. I look forward to continue working with Bernard, the rest of the committee, Dan Gavitt and his great staff in the coming two years.”

White and Muir are joined on the committee by Jim Schaus, the director of athletics at Ohio; Janet Cone, the director of athletics at UNC Asheville; Mitch Barnhart, the director of athletics at Kentucky; Craig Thompson, the commissioner of the Mountain West Conference; Jim Phillips, the vice president for athletics and recreation at Northwestern; Tom Burnett, the commissioner of the Southland Conference; Bernadette McGlade, the commissioner of the Atlantic 10 Conference; and Chris Reynolds, the director of athletics at Bradley. Current chair Bruce Rasmussen, the athletics director at Creighton, and Tom Holmoe, the director of athletics at Brigham Young, will rotate off the committee Sept. 1.