You are here

Division II set to grow by 4 schools

10 additional schools are in the membership process

Four schools are on their way to becoming the newest members of Division II. The division’s membership will expand to 310 colleges and universities this fall.

The Division II Membership Committee this week voted to advance Holy Names University, Mississippi College, Rogers State University and Southern Wesleyan University into active Division II membership after the schools completed the required process. Once active members, the schools are eligible to vote at the NCAA Convention and compete in Division II championships. 

The committee also accepted two schools into the membership process and voted on the progress of nine others already working toward active membership. All decisions will be reviewed by the Division II Management Council at its meeting next week. 

Six schools are set to advance into their final year of the membership process: California State University, San Marcos; Concordia University Irvine; Concordia University Portland; Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Florida); Oklahoma Baptist University; and Spring Hill College.

One school, Westminster College (Utah), is slated to begin its second year of the membership process this fall. Two others, Biola University and Davenport University, will begin their initial year of the process. Auburn University at Montgomery was asked to repeat its first year of the process.

Additionally, the Membership Committee did not accept an application from Purdue University Northwest (formerly known as Purdue University Calumet) and voted to remove Emmanuel College (Georgia) from the membership process. Emmanuel already had been required to repeat one year of the process and was seeking to advance to the third year. However, Division II legislation permits a school in the membership process to repeat only one of the required minimum three years. If a school cannot complete the requirements in a four-year span, it is removed from the process and must wait one year to reapply.