You are here

Condoleezza Rice to receive Ford Award

The former U.S. Secretary of State will accept the award at the 2016 NCAA Convention

Condoleezza Rice has been named the 2016 recipient of the NCAA President’s Gerald R. Ford Award.

Named in recognition of Gerald Ford, the 38th U.S. president and a member of two University of Michigan national-championship football teams, the award honors an individual who has provided significant leadership as an advocate for college sports.

Rice is well-known as the first African-American woman to serve as the U.S. Secretary of State. She was also the first woman to serve as National Security Advisor, and she has brought her experience back to Stanford University as she continues to educate students.

The current Denning Professor in Global Business and the Economy at the Stanford University Graduate School of Business, Rice has a long and distinguished career in academics. In 1993, she was named the Stanford University provost. During her six-year tenure as provost, she oversaw a $1.5 billion academic budget and an academic program that included 1,400 faculty members and 14,000 students.

Two years ago, Rice was appointed to the College Football Playoff Selection Committee, where she helps bring an academic-centered perspective and deep understanding of football to the panel of college football experts.

“Throughout her career in academia, Condoleezza Rice has demonstrated a dedication to higher education and advocacy for college sports,” NCAA President Mark Emmert said. “Her continued efforts as an educator – and now as a member of the College Football Playoff Selection Committee – are invaluable as higher education leaders seek to ensure we are providing a pathway to opportunity for student-athletes.”

Rice will receive the award at the 2016 NCAA Convention in San Antonio. She will also address Convention attendees during the Convention’s keynote luncheon.

The award was established in 2004 by the late NCAA President Myles Brand and was first awarded to former Notre Dame President Theodore Hesburgh. Walt Harrison, president of the University of Hartford and chair of the NCAA’s Committee on Academic Performance, was last year’s recipient.