You are here

Chris Dawson named chair of 2015-16 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee

Chris Dawson, associate commissioner of the Pac-12 Conference, will serve as the next chair of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee during the 2015-16 academic year. The appointment was made by the committee and confirmed by the NCAA Division I Championships/Sports Management Cabinet.

Currently serving her fourth year as a member of the committee, Dawson will succeed current chair Dru Hancock, senior associate commissioner for the Big 12 Conference. She will officially become the 17th chair of the committee on September 1, 2015.

“It’s an honor to be selected by my fellow committee members to serve in this role,” Dawson said. “I look forward to our continued work together to enhance the game and create memorable NCAA tournaments for student-athletes and fans alike.”

Named Pac-12 assistant commissioner of Olympic sports in August 2001, Dawson was promoted to associate commissioner in February of 2006. She is the conference liaison for women’s basketball, men’s soccer, wrestling, women's golf, and softball. Dawson is also responsible for administering the officiating policy for the conference. 

During her career Dawson has served on numerous NCAA committees and cabinets, including on the NCAA Division I Awards, Benefits, Expenses and Financial Aid Cabinet, NCAA Championships and Competition Cabinet, where she was chair, NCAA Strategic Planning Cabinet, NCAA Soccer Rules Committee, NCAA Woman of the Year Committee and the NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Committee prior to joining the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee in 2011.

Before joining the Pac-12, Dawson spent 23 years at the University of California, Berkeley as the associate athletic director for sport programs and senior woman administrator from 1992 to 2001. She was named assistant athletic director for the Cal women’s athletic department in 1989 after previously serving as sports information director for from 1979-89.

Dawson is a 1975 honors graduate of the University of Virginia where she was a student-athlete in basketball. She earned a master’s degree in education, with emphasis in sport administration from Ohio University in 1979.

 “Chris will continue the momentum created by past committees and chairs towards creating the best possible championship experience for our student-athletes,” said Anucha Browne, NCAA vice president for women’s basketball championships. “Chris comes to the chair position with an excellent perspective formed by years on various NCAA committees, at the Pac-12 Conference, on campus and as a former student-athlete. We look forward to our continued work together.”