You are here

1995 NCAA Woman of the Year

Rebecca Lobo, University of Connecticut


NCAA's finest

Originally published in The NCAA News, October 30, 1995


Rebecca Lobo, 1995 NCAA Woman of the Year

Rebecca Lobo, the most outstanding player at the 1995 Women's Final Four, has been selected as the 1995 NCAA Woman of the Year.

Lobo received her award October 11 at a sold-out awards dinner in Kansas City, Missouri. The NCAA Woman of the Year Award recognizes outstanding achievements in athletics, academics and community leadership.

"This one is different," said Lobo, who has received numerous honors since leading the University of Connecticut to an unbeaten record and the national championship. "It takes a lot more into consideration than what you do in your sport. It's a great honor."

Lobo was selected from 392 nominees. A special selection committee of athletics administrators from NCAA institutions selected 52 state-level winners and then narrowed the group to 10 finalists. The NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics selected the winner.

"1 think it's great that the people who govern you all throughout college also recognize you," Lobo said. "This is the only award that takes into consideration the person that you are, what you do off the court. It's definitely significant."

NCAA Executive Director Cedric W. Dempsey said Lobo is an "outstanding example of what college athletics is all about.. Her excellence on the court has become well-known, but that is only one aspect of her incredible ability. She is also an excellent student and an active leader and role model."

Lobo graduated from Connecticut with a 3.637 grade-point average in political science. She finished her collegiate career with 2,133 points on her way to winning the Wade Trophy, awarded to the top collegiate women's basketball player. She finished her career with 1,268 rebounds and 227 blocked shots, both Connecticut records.

Other awards and honors include the Ban/Naismith National Player of the Year award, membership on the USA Basketball national team and recognition as a cowinner of the 1995 GTE/CoSIDA Academic All-America Tearn Member of the Year award (the first woman so honored). She also was a Phi Beta Kappa scholar, a volunteer at the Paul Newman Hole in the Wall Camp for terminally ill children and honorary cochair of the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation Connecticut Race for the Cure Benefit. 

Previous winners were Tanya Hughes, University of Arizona (1994); Nnenna Lynch, Villanova University (1993); Catherine Byrne, University of Tennessee, Knoxville (1992); and Mary Beth Riley, Canisius College (1991). 



Other NCAA Woman of the Year finalists were Michelle Carlson, softball, Trenton State College; Amy Clements, track and cross country, Eastern Kentucky University; Sofie Eriksson, golf, University of Tulsa; Heidi Rae Hamlin, track and cross country, Seattle Pacific University; Emilie Hanson, basketball, Central College (Iowa); Heather L. Killeen, track and cross country, California State University, Fullerton; Robyn Olson, track and cross country, Wartburg College; Cheril Santini, diving, Southern Methodist University; and Rebecca E. Spies, track and cross country, Villanova University.


State Honorees:

  • Alabama: Heather Brown, Auburn, Gymnastics
  • Alaska: Jennifer O'Neal, Alaska Fairbanks, Rifle
  • Arizona: Wendy Ward, Arizona St., Golf
  • Arkansas: Honey Leigh Marsh, Arkansas, Soccer
  • California: Heather Killen, Cal State Fullerton, Track
  • Colorado: Rosemary Durbin, Metropolitan State, Soccer
  • Connecticut: Rebecca Lobo, Connecticut, Basketball
  • Delaware: Kathy Shaw, Delaware, Volleyball
  • District of Columbia: Cris Waterhouse, Catholic, Volleyball
  • Florida: Kathryn Cortelyou, Florida Southern, Softball
  • Hawaii: Kimberly Weil, Hawaii, Softball
  • Idaho: Julie Wagner, Boise St., Gymnastics
  • Illinois: Rachel Knapp, Augustan NO, Cross Country/Track
  • Indiana: Julie Koebcke, Indiana St., Track
  • Iowa: Emilie Hanson, Central (Iowa), Basketball and Robyn Olson, Wartburg, Cross Country/Track
  • Kansas: Shelley Foster, Washburn, Basketball
  • Kentucky: Amy Clements, Eastern Kentucky, Cross Country/Track
  • Louisiana: Kristy Risner, Centenary (La,), Softball/Volleyball
  • Maine: Jennifer Stinchcomb, Maine, Field Hockey
  • Maryland: Jennifer Jewell, Maryland-Baltimore County, Volleyball
  • Massachusetts: Anna Diaz, Wellesley, Volleyball
  • Michigan: Dawn Zarling, Michigan Tech, Basketball
  • Minnesota: Kelly Copps, St. Thomas (Minn.), Cross Country/Track
  • Mississippi: Beverley Harrington, Jackson St., Track
  • Missouri: Amy Albers, Washington (Mo.), Volleyball
  • Montana: Kristy Schlimgen, Montana, Basketball
  • Nebraska: Nicole Duval, Nebraska, Gymnastics
  • Nevada: Cyndi Parus, UNLV, Softball
  • New Hampshire: Ann Marie Ferretti, Colby-Sawyer, Volleyball
  • New Jersey: Michelle Carlson, Trenton St., Softball
  • New Mexico: Leesha Thomas, Western New Mexico, Basketball
  • New York: Jennifer Smith, Colgate, Basketball
  • North Carolina: Stephanie Neill, Wake Forest, Golf
  • North Dakota: Linda Rath, North Dak. St., Basketball
  • Ohio: Jennifer Buckley, Kent, Track
  • Oklahoma: Sofie Ericksson, Tulsa, Golf
  • Oregon Camra Jones, Oregon, Track
  • Pennsylvania: Rebecca Spies, Villanova, Track
  • Rhode Island: Michelle Fobert Salve, Regina, Cross Country
  • South Carolina: Elizabeth Clack ,Coker, Softball
  • South Dakota: Anna Ratzloff, Augustona (S.D.), Track
  • Tennessee: Caroline Groves, Tennessee-Martin, Tennis
  • Texas: Cheril Santini, Southern Methodist, Diving
  • Utah: Shawna Cox, Weber St., Cross Country/Track
  • Vermont: Penelope Peters, Castleton St., Cross Country
  • Virginia: Charlaine Coetzee, Longwood, Golf
  • Washington: Heidi Rae Hamlin, Seattle Pacific, Cross Country/Track
  • West Virginia: Jean Foster, West Virgininia, Rifle
  • Wisconsin: Cindy Paplham, Wisconsin-Whitewater, Volleyball
  • Wyoming: Amy Burnett, Wyoming, Basketball